What are the laws and penalties for marijuana in Florida?
What happens when you are found in possession of marijuana in Florida? Possession and sale or trafficking of marijuana/cannabis and any form of the drug is prohibited by federal and Florida state law.
If you are found in possession of any form of the plant or concentrate, then you could face serious penalties such as losing your license, a fine, or even jail time.
What should you do if you are found in possession of marijuana in Florida?
The first thing you should do is contact an experienced attorney. They can assist you in outlining a list of defenses and circumstances that could help reduce the penalties for marijuana in Florida.
It’s not uncommon for a small possession charge or misdemeanor to be diverted to a Pre-trial Intervention Program (PTI) for first time offenders – allowing an offender with no previous criminal history to avoid formal conviction by completing the necessary steps in a Florida approved drug rehabilitation or probation program.
Your eligibility for a Pre-trial Intervention Program usually depends on the severity of the crime. It also depends on whether or not you have any other offenses on your record. First time offenders found in possession of a small amount of marijuana (less than 20 grams) are the most likely to be diverted to pre-trial intervention.
Marijuana Possession Penalties in Florida
|Details||Penalty||Max Sentence||Max Fine|
|20 grams or less||Misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
|More than 20 grams – 25 lbs||Felony||5 years||$25,000|
|More than 25 – less than 2000 lbs||Felony||*3 – 15 years|
|Possession of hashish or concentrates||Felony||5 years||$5,000|
|Selling, manufacturing, or delivering||Felony||5 years||$5,000|
|Possession of paraphernalia||Misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
In addition to these penalties for marijuana in Florida in the form of jail time and fines, there are also other restrictions that could apply to anyone found in possession of marijuana in Florida. Among these basic penalties are supervised or unsupervised probation and a temporary driver license suspension for a period of a year if convicted. Other penalties not usually outlined on the list include monitoring and drug testing by a probation officer.
To reduce the severity of the penalties you receive, it’s important to first contact an experienced criminal defense and drug possession lawyer.
What Happens If You’re Caught in Possession in Tampa – Where Marijuana has been “Decriminalized”?
Seek an experienced criminal defense or marijuana possession lawyer in Tampa immediately. The city of Tampa may have recently reduced enforcement measures for certain petty crimes, such as marijuana possession of up to 20 grams from jail time to just a fine, but it’s still quite possible to undergo arrest for small marijuana possession in Tampa.
The reality of marijuana decriminalization in Tampa is that it varies from officer to officer. Some police officers who work for the city of Tampa will honor the new regulations by distributing marijuana citations in place of an arrest, but others, such as the Sheriff’s Office, are not as keen to uphold the city’s changes in legislation. This means, if you are found in possession of marijuana in Tampa (at less than 20 grams), one of two things can happen — you will either be cited with a ticket or arrested and charged with a misdemeanor.
Were You Found in Possession of Marijuana in Tampa?
Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who is familiar with local laws and regulations. Dean Tsourakis can help you receive the best resolution for your situation. Call today to enjoy a free confidential consultation for an overview of your case.
Florida Laws and Penalties for Marijuanaon Aug 23, 2016