Have you received a Florida traffic ticket? Are you unsure of your rights or what you should do? Drivers do have certain rights when it comes to Florida traffic citations, and having the correct information is important to make the best decisions for your rights and your future.
Here are the top five questions about Florida traffic tickets:
1. Am I considered guilty if I sign a traffic ticket?
You are required to sign a Florida traffic citation if a law enforcement officer issues you one. But — this is not an admission of guilt. It is just signifying that you have received the ticket. If you continually refuse to sign the ticket, the officer has the legal authority to charge you with resisting arrest. If you were arrested after refusing to sign a Florida traffic ticket, consult with a criminal defense attorney.
2. Is signing a traffic ticket an admission of guilt?
Signing a traffic ticket is not an admission of guilt. It is, however, a recognition that you have received a ticket. If you are asked to sign a ticket issued to you by a police officer, do so. If you choose to fight the ticket, signing it will not hurt your case.
3. How long does a Florida traffic citation stay on my record?
If you are found guilty for a traffic violation, the ticket can stay on your record for 10 years. Serious traffic offenses result in harsher penalties in Florida, such as heavy fines, higher premiums, and even an automatic driver’s license suspension. If you get a license suspension, it can stay on your record up to 11 years, according to the Florida DMV.
Major traffic violations in Florida include:
- Reckless Driving
- Driving Under the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Alcohol-related violations can stay on your record for most of your life – 75 years. Due to the potentially very serious consequences, it is highly recommended to consult a criminal defense attorney if you have received a Florida traffic citation.
4. How many points does it take to get my license suspended?
The point system is calculated by time. If you receive 12 points on your license within a 12 month period, the penalty is a license suspension for thirty days.
Different rules apply for CFC licenses.
5. How do I perform a Florida traffic ticket search?
You can access your information on the Florida DMV site and request your driving record. The FLDHSMV offers you several options in record types of driver records/motor vehicle records:
- 3-year record
- 7-year record
- Complete driver record
- Certified driving record
Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney
Remember, just because you sign a ticket — this is not an admission (or a proving) of guilt. Drivers in Florida have many rights, and that includes the right to an attorney.
Dean Tsourakis is an experienced criminal defense attorney that works hard for Florida drivers. Everyone deserves fair representation when it comes to legal matters that can have serious, lasting consequences on their lives.
Contact the law office of Dean Tsourakis today for a FREE in-office evaluation. We can help.on Feb 12, 2019