If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Florida, it’s crucial you contact a criminal defense attorney. Without experienced legal professionals on your side, you are more likely to get the maximum penalties. However, there is more that you need to be aware of to be prepared for the next steps.
What You Need to Know About Being Arrested for A DUI
A DUI arrest is a serious matter that can make a significant impact on both your personal life and your career. The law office of Dean Tsourakis is here to not only provide you with the information you need to deal with the complexities of Florida DUI laws but also to help you make the best legal decisions as you try to move forward with your life after a DUI arrest.
What is the punishment for a first-time DUI?
The laws for blood/breath alcohol content in Florida and across the U.S. are the same. The limit is set at .08 percent. But if you test over .15 percent and have a minor in the car or cause an accident, injury, or fatality — the punishment is typically more severe.
The standard punishment, if you get convicted for driving under the influence in the state of Florida for a first-time DUI offense, could be:
- A fine of up to $1,000
- A sentence of up to 6 months in jail
- The potential of losing your driver’s license for up to 6 months
- Fifty hours of community service
Other punishments can include an order for you to attend a DUI school, an impounded vehicle, suspension of your driver’s license, and getting an ignition interlock installed in your car.
These consequences are intended to be serious to deter people from driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Dean Tsourakis is a Clearwater DUI lawyer that is very experienced in working with the justice system in Florida and has helped thousands of people with their legal needs in serious matters, including DUI, that can be life-changing.
With a good DUI lawyer, you have the possibility of getting fine reductions and are more likely to get a lesser jail sentence or even no jail at all and probation only. This is to say that the punishments for a DUI can vary widely — dependent on both the circumstances of the arrest and whether or not you have a legal advocate to defend you against the Florida justice system aggressively.
What happens when you are arrested for a DUI?
After you are arrested for DUI, the police will typically take you back to the county jail. Understand that you have rights. Since DUI is a bondable offense, you should bond out if you can. If you don’t, you will have to go in front of a judge. There is quite a wide range on the amount that the bond could be to get released. Generally speaking, it can go from $100 to about $700, depending on the circumstances surrounding the DUI arrest.
How long can they hold you in jail for a DUI?
This is typically dependent on what your breath alcohol level is when you are arrested. Police have to hold you for a minimum of 8 hours if you blow over a .08 percent or until you get under.02 percent. Even if you blow under .08 at the scene or when you get to the county jail, they will often still hold you for 8 hours. It is not likely that the police will keep administering a breathalyzer test to get you out sooner than 8 hours.
Is your license suspended immediately after a DUI?
After you’ve been arrested for DUI, your license is not typically suspended immediately. The state of Florida has a process in place for you to help keep your driver’s license. It is important to know that you only have ten days after the DUI arrest to request a DMV Administrative Review Hearing. If you do prevail at the hearing, you would be allowed to keep your license. This is another reason why expert help with a DUI attorney in Clearwater is key to your case (and your future).
If you do not request a DMV Administrative Review hearing within the ten-day time frame — your driver’s license will be suspended on the eleventh day. This can cause major interruptions in your personal and work life and could even get you fired if you can’t get to work.
Contact the Law Office of Clearwater DUI Lawyer Dean Tsourakis
If you have been arrested for DUI, consulting with an experienced legal professional is a smart decision. Unfortunately, it is quite easy to get a DUI in Florida. Even if you don’t feel impaired, your blood alcohol level could be above the limit (your size, metabolism, how strong the drinks are, and how quickly you consumed the drinks all matters). But know it is in your best interest to not go it alone.
Dean Tsourakis is an aggressive criminal defense attorney and works diligently to get the best possible outcomes for his clients who have been arrested for DUI. Most people are not familiar with the complex processes, laws, and demands of the justice system and having an experienced Clearwater DUI lawyer could make a huge difference in regards to punishments such as fines, jail time, and whether or not your license could be suspended.
Contact the law office of Dean Tsourakis today to set up a free, confidential consultation. Whether it is your first offense or not, a conviction for DUI equals very serious consequences, and he is here to help. When the future is unclear, taking advantage of a free consultation can give you the confidence and support you need to make the most of a difficult situation. Do not try to handle the situation yourself. You need an excellent lawyer to manage the case.on Sep 18, 2019